Carole & Marcus Weinstein Jewish Community Center
2023 Annual Meeting

Thursday, May 18 2023

Weinstein JCC Annual Meeting Celebrates Community and Recognizes Contributions

The Carole & Marcus Weinstein Jewish Community Center held its highly anticipated annual meeting on Thursday, May 18, 2023, at the Center’s main campus on Monument Avenue. The event brought together community members, leaders, staff, and supporters for an evening dedicated to celebrating achievements, acknowledging outstanding service, and outlining the JCC’s vision for the future.

A special tribute was also paid to Barbara Wise, Assistant Director of the Center’s Early Childhood department, for her remarkable 38 years of service to the preschool. Wise’s tireless efforts positively impacted the lives of countless children and families. To honor her retirement, the Barbara Wise Staff Award was created, with Barbara herself being the inaugural recipient.

The meeting also recognized the outstanding achievements, and contributions of three individuals through prestigious awards. The award winners and their respective awards are as follows:

Maia Sigal Zasler: Arenstein Family Excellence in Youth Service
Maia Sigal Zasler was honored with the Arenstein Family Excellence in Youth Service Award for her exceptional commitment and service to the youth within the JCC and the broader community. This award recognizes her outstanding dedication, leadership, and positive impact on young people, highlighting her efforts to make a difference in the lives of youth.

Jennie O’Holleran: Leroy B. Goldberg Leadership Award for emerging volunteer leadership
Jennie O’Holleran received the Leroy B. Goldberg Leadership Award, which celebrates emerging volunteer leaders who have demonstrated remarkable dedication and initiative in their roles. This award acknowledges Jennie’s exemplary leadership qualities and her significant contributions to the JCC, showcasing her as an influential volunteer leader.

Sara Waskin: Esther, Edith, H. J. Bernstein Volunteer Leadership Award
Sara Waskin was honored with the Esther, Edith, H. J. Bernstein Volunteer Leadership Award, recognizing her exceptional commitment and impact as a volunteer leader within the JCC. This prestigious award acknowledges Sara’s outstanding leadership skills, dedication, and contributions to the JCC community.

Maia Sigal Zasler

Maia is a senior at Collegiate School. In addition to her many academic accomplishments, she served as Chapter President and member of the National Conference of Synagogue Youth, organizing weekly Jewish learning activities and volunteering at STEAM events. Maia participated in the “Never Again Project” where she provided comprehensive Holocaust education to teens at local seminar events in the Richmond community.

Maia co-founded an environmental advocacy group, Green Teenz RVA, which pursues local cleanup efforts and provides volunteer action-oriented opportunities for over 40 Richmond teens per year.

She did this in the spirit of the Jewish belief that humans must take environmental responsibility for our earth. She and her co-founders collaborated with the Virginia League of Conservation Voters and Maia spoke at an Inflation Reduction Act press conference alongside Representative Donald McEachin; presented a position paper to the Board of Supervisors for the Three Chopt and Tuckahoe districts of Henrico County; taught online environmental classes for elementary students in the summer; and worked conjointly with the Science Museum of Virginia to collect data on city air quality and helped create an award-winning documentary, Why are We Losing the Fight Against Environmental Racism.


Additionally, Maia was accepted to a year-long Stand With Us internship and represented teens at the first meeting of the Governor’s mandated conference on fighting antisemitism with the Virginia Attorney General; Maia served on the Teen Board of the Friendship Circle of Virginia (“FCVA”), serving as President for three years; and she has been on the Service Council and Co-President of the Civic Engagement Team at Collegiate. As a result of Maia’s leadership and advocacy at FCVA, she was nominated for the Diller Teen Tikkun Olam Award which recognizes the accomplishments of Jewish team leaders to inspire future generations in the global community.


Based on her involvement and love for the Richmond Jewish Community, we are thrilled to honor her with the Arenstein Family Excellence in Youth Service Award.

Jennie O’Holleran

Jennie has served as the Chair or co-Chair of the Early Childhood Committee of the Board for the past 3 years. She and her husband have a JCC preschool graduate, a current JCC preschool student, and a future JCC preschool student on the way! Over the past several years, Jennie has supported the preschool leadership team as they navigated the many challenges of COVID. She is especially proud to have worked with JCC leadership to increase teacher pay and planning time. She is an active member of the Board of Directors and has served on several committees during her time on the Board. We are excited to honor her with the Leroy B. Goldberg Award.

Sara Waskin

Sara is a long-time member and supporter of the center. She served as President from 2004-2006 and has been an active member of the Board of Directors since 1993, currently serving as the Chair of the Budget & Finance Committee. Sara has dedicated many hours to the JCC, and the center has been fortunate to be able to rely on her accounting expertise.  Additionally, Sara is a Lion of Judah and has worked on many JCFR Annual Campaigns over the years.  She was active in Jewish Women’s International, helped start the Young Adult Division of JCFR, participated in JCFR’s Sherry Rose Leadership Institute, and currently chairs the Personnel Committee at Temple Beth-El.   She will be installed in May as President of the Jewish Women’s Club. We are very happy and excited to honor her with the Esther, Edith, and H.J. Bernstein Volunteer Leadership Award.

Additionally, the annual meeting included the election and installation of officers and board members, ushering in a fresh wave of leadership to guide the JCC’s future endeavors.

Chair Ashley Brooks, President Greg Bishop, President Elect Stuart Simon, Honorary Vice Presidents Ric Arenstein and Allison Weinstein, Vice Presidents Andy Brownstein, Shana Levy Passman, Bruce Perretz, and Cullen Seltzer, Secretary Lynn Schwartz, Treasurer Sara Waskin

Board Members Susie Adolf, Allen Cohen, David Fratkin, Chris Greenberg, Helen Griffin, Shelley Gouldin, Landis Knee, Sarah Arenstein Levy, Leeron Molloy, Jennie O’Holleran, Greg Samuels, Charley Scher, Stuart Simon, Wes Simon, Stephanie Sulmer, Sara Villalona, Bob Weisberger, and Nathan Zasler.

The Weinstein JCC’s annual meeting served as a testament to the thriving community it has fostered for over 75 years and celebrated the exceptional individuals who have contributed to its growth and success. With the dedication and support of its members, the JCC looks forward to continuing its mission of providing a safe and inclusive space for the community to gather and build meaningful connections guided by Jewish values and culture for many years to come.

The Weinstein JCC is supported, in part, by a generous annual contribution, and programming grants from the Jewish Community Federation of Richmond.

Contact Information